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INTRODUCTION 

This handbook has been prepared to explain the Unemployment Compensation program and answer many questions you may have. 
It does not take the place of the Alabama Unemployment Compensation Law. 

 
Your responsibility for meeting the Alabama unemployment compensation benefit requirements begins when your claim is filed. Please 
read and familiarize yourself with the contents of this handbook and ask questions about anything that you do not understand. 
This handbook contains valuable information, which will assist you in every phase of filing for and receiving unemployment 
benefits. 

 
The Alabama Department of Labor Unemployment Compensation Division does not discriminate on the basis of a disability in the 
provision of services or employment. If you need this material interpreted, in a different form, or if you need assistance in using our 
service, please contact us. 
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PART ONE: UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION BASICS 
 

WHAT IS UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION? 

Unemployment Compensation is a weekly benefit paid to workers who are either unemployed or working reduced hours, 
through no fault of their own. Not everyone who applies for unemployment benefits will qualify. Certain conditions must 
be met in order to meet initial eligibility requirements and to remain eligible to receive benefits. 

 
THE UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION TRUST FUND 

The unemployment compensation program is financed by employer taxes. Employees do not pay any unemployment 
compensation taxes on wages earned. 

Unemployment tax is paid by employers on the first $8,000.00 of their workers’ gross earnings during a tax year. These 
are called insured wages. Quarterly state tax payments are deposited into the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund 
and used solely for the payment of unemployment compensation benefits to eligible claimants. 

Not all employers are required to pay the unemployment compensation tax. Some employers elect to reimburse the 
Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund the amount of benefits paid to their workers on a dollar-for-dollar basis. 

 
YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

The Unemployment Compensation Division can only process your claim if you provide your social security number. We 
use your social security number to verify your identity, locate your employer(s) and your wages, determine other income, 
determine eligibility, keep records of your benefit payments, and gather statistics. 

The authority to require your social security number is found under the Internal Revenue Code of 1954, and the Code of 
Alabama, 1975. 

 
INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 

Unemployment compensation benefits are taxable income. Each year all your unemployment benefit payments are 
reported to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
You can request to have federal income taxes withheld from your unemployment benefit payments. If you elect to have 
federal tax withheld, your weekly benefits will be reduced by 10 percent (10%). You will be given the option to change 
your withholding status only once during your claim year. We will mail a Statement of Benefits, Form 1099-G, to your 
last address of record no later than January 31st of each year. A copy of your Form 1099-G is also available on our 
website at www.labor.alabama.gov. 

 
BENEFIT PAYMENT OPTIONS 

Alabama provides two options for receiving unemployment benefit payments: 

(1) Direct Deposit: 

To have your benefit payment deposited into your personal checking or savings account, please have your bank 
routing and account number available when you file your unemployment claim. You can locate the nine-digit bank 
routing number on the bottom left of your check. Once your claim is approved, funds are deposited into your checking 
or savings account within two business days. 

(2) The AL Vantage Prepaid Benefits Card: 

The AL Vantage Card is currently serviced by Comerica Bank. The service provider is subject to change. There are fees 
associated with certain activities. Your AL Vantage Card will not be mailed until your claim has been approved. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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This could delay receipt of your first payment by 7-10 days, for card delivery. Additional information about the AL 
Vantage Card is available online at www.labor.alabama.gov/AL_VantageCard. 

 
AL VANTAGE CUSTOMER SERVICE 

Lost or stolen AL Vantage cards should be reported immediately to 833-888-2779 (for TTY, see back cover). Any other 
problems with your AL Vantage Card should be addressed with cardholder services at this same number. 

You may also access your AL Vantage account information online at www.goprogram.com. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

PART TWO: FILING A CLAIM FOR UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 

FILING A CLAIM APPLICATION 

Filing a claim application does one of the following: 

1. Starts a new 52-week benefit year if you have never filed for unemployment before. 
2. Starts a new 52-week benefit year if your benefit year from an earlier claim has ended. 
3. Reactivates or reopens a benefit year that has not yet ended. 

 
PREPARING TO FILE YOUR CLAIM 

You should have the following information available when you call or go online to file an initial claim application: 

• Your social security number; 
• Your Driver’s License or Alabama ID #; 
• Your Alien Registration Card, if applicable; 
• A list of names, complete addresses, and telephone numbers, and the beginning and end dates of employment for 

your last 2 employers; 
• Information and related documents for any federal civilian employment, military service, or work performed in 

another state in the past 18 months; 
• Your bank routing number and checking or savings account number, if you choose to have your unemployment 

payment deposited directly into your bank account. 

The information you provide will be used to determine your eligibility for Unemployment Compensation benefits. It is 
important that your answers are accurate and complete for each question asked. The law provides penalties for 
making false statements to obtain unemployment benefits. 

 
HOW TO FILE BY INTERNET OR PHONE 

www.labor.alabama.gov 

1-866-2-FILE UC 

(For TTY, see back cover.) 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/AL_VantageCard
http://www.goprogram.com/
http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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To file by internet, go to www.labor.alabama.gov, click on Unemployment, then File Claim, then Establish a New or 
Reopen a UC Claim and follow the prompts. 

To file by phone, call the above toll-free number, 866-234-5382, (for TTY, see back cover). You will be connected to a 
claims specialist to complete the filing of your Unemployment Claim. Due to call quality, using a mobile telephone is not 
recommended. 

If needed, telephones and computers are available for use at a local Alabama Career Center (see inside back cover). 

For general information, and inquiries on previously filed claims, please schedule a callback with the UC Claimant 
Inquiry Line, at 800-361-4524 (for TTY, see back cover), or visit www.labor.alabama.gov. 

 
PROCESSING TIME FOR YOUR CLAIM 

It usually takes two or three (2-3) weeks following the week you filed your claim to receive your first benefit payment, 
provided that you have followed all instructions, filed your weekly certifications as instructed, and have met all eligibility 
requirements. Failure to give complete and correct information will delay any benefits to which you may be 
entitled. Please keep this in mind when inquiring as to whether your first or future benefit payments have been issued. 

 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS 

If you have a change of address following the filing of your claim, you must call the UC Claimant Inquiry Line at 800- 
361-4524 (for TTY, see back cover) to update your address. This will ensure that payments and all other correspondence 
are forwarded to your correct address. 

You should always notify the U. S. Post Office located nearest you of your change of address. However, it is your 
responsibility to keep the Unemployment Compensation Division informed of your correct mailing address. 

 
WHAT TO DO IF YOU RETURN TO WORK AND BECOME UNEMPLOYED AGAIN 

You should reopen your claim as soon as you become unemployed, either via internet at www.labor.alabama.gov or by 
calling the claims line at 866-234-5382 (for TTY, see back cover). 

Do not wait to receive your last paycheck. Remember, your claim will not be backdated. Your most recent employer 
will be notified that you have filed a claim for benefits and will be asked to provide information about why you are no 
longer employed. 

 
DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION AND REQUESTS FOR YOUR INFORMATION 

Your claim information is considered confidential, but the law and various regulations permit us to report your 
unemployment income to the Internal Revenue Service, the Alabama Department of Revenue, and other governmental 
agencies without your consent. 

Written information related to your Unemployment Claim may be requested as follows: 

• Complete a written, notarized request using the Individual Confidential Information Request Form (Form 480) 
located at www.labor.alabama.gov 

• Each request must include a $10.00 money order (price subject to change). 

• Completed form and money order should be mailed to: 

ATTN: Central Cashier 
ADOL 

649 Monroe Street, Room 2684 
Montgomery, Alabama 36131-0001 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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PART THREE: QUALIFYING FOR BENEFITS 
 

MONETARY AND SEPARATION DETERMINATIONS 

There will be at least two determinations made on your claim, including (1) a monetary determination and (2) a separation 
determination. 

1) Monetary Determination – Whether you have earned enough wages to qualify for unemployment benefits. The 
monetary determination will indicate: 

a. wages paid to you by your employer(s) within the base period quarters. (The base period is explained further under 
the section, “Computing Monetary Eligibility” of this handbook), and 

b. your maximum and weekly benefit amount if you qualify. 

Be sure to review your monetary determination carefully! Notify the UC Claimant Inquiry Line if there 
appears to be any missing or incorrectly reported wages. Proof of wages, such as a W-2 form, pay stubs, or a 
letter from your employer, may be required to correct your wage record. 

• Working for cash or received a 1099? Did you know this could affect your eligibility for unemployment 
benefits? Let us help you! Call 1-855-234-2856 (for TTY, see back cover) or email us at 
TipHotline@labor.alabama.gov 

If you have wages from another state, military or federal wages, school-related wages, or if some of your Alabama 
wages are missing or require an investigation, you may be issued another monetary determination after these additional 
wages are recorded. You cannot receive benefits from more than one state for the same period of time. 

 
2) Separation Determination – A second determination will be made regarding the reason you were separated from your 

last employer. For more information, see Separation Eligibility Issues in Part Four of this book. 
If no disqualification is assessed on your claim after an investigation is completed on your reason for being separated 
from your last employer, you will receive unemployment benefits for any weekly certifications you have filed, 
provided there were no questions regarding your eligibility. 

If a disqualification is assessed on your claim after an investigation is completed you will receive a written decision 
notifying you that benefits were either reduced, suspended, or denied for any length of time because of your most 
recent job separation. 

 
COMPUTING MONETARY ELIGIBILITY 

You must have insured wages in at least two quarters of your base period in order to qualify for unemployment benefits. 
The following definitions and charts will help you understand which wages are used on your claim, and provide general 
information about how weekly and maximum benefit amounts are determined: 

 
CALENDAR QUARTERS: The four calendar quarters of the year are as follows: 

1st Qtr: January/February/March 

2nd Qtr: April/May/June 

3rd Qtr:  July/August/September 

4th Qtr:  October/November/December 

Calendar quarters begin with the first Sunday in the new quarter. 

mailto:TipHotline@labor.alabama.gov
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BASE PERIOD: The base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the week you call to 
file an initial claim application for a new benefit year. Wages paid to you during your base period are used to determine if 
you have enough wages to qualify for a claim and to calculate how much you can be paid in benefits. 

The chart below will help you understand how the calendar quarters in a base period are determined. 

To determine your base period, find the month in the far-right row in which your benefit year is effective. The four 
shaded quarters in the same row across to the left are the base period quarters of your claim. PLEASE REMEMBER: A 
benefit year is dated effective the Sunday beginning the week in which you file. 

IF YOU FILE YOUR CLAIM 

(AFTER THE FIRST SUNDAY) IN: 

 
 

HIGH QUARTER: Your high quarter is the base period quarter during which you were paid the highest amount of 
wages from covered employment. The average earnings of your two highest base period quarters must equal to at least 
the minimum amount specified by law. Your total base period wages must equal or exceed 1½ times your high quarter 
earnings in order to be eligible for unemployment benefits. 

 
MINIMUM AND MAXIMUM BENEFIT 

Benefits range from a minimum of $45 to a maximum of $275 calculated using your base period earnings. You will 
receive a monetary determination after you file that lists your base period wages by employer, and the total weekly 
amount to which you may be entitled. 

 
ADDITIONAL TRAINING BENEFITS 

Claims effective on or after January 1, 2020, may qualify for an additional five (5) weeks of benefits for those who are 
participating in approved training. These additional weeks will be established as five times your regular weekly benefit 
amount added to your maximum benefit amount. These training weeks will not be paid for any benefit weeks ending after 
your benefit year has expired. You must attend an approved training course during your benefit year to qualify for 
these additional benefits. 

 
COVERED AND INSURED EMPLOYMENT 

Covered employment is work performed for an employer who is subject to the Alabama Unemployment Compensation 
Law. Only wages paid from covered employment can be used to qualify for unemployment benefits and to calculate your 
monetary eligibility. Some work, however, can be excluded (or not covered) by law, even when performed for a covered 
employer. 
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BENEFIT YEAR: A benefit year is the 52-week period during which you can claim benefits, beginning with the week 
you file your initial claim. The maximum benefit amount that you will be able to draw during that year is based on your 
wages in the base period, and the unemployment rate. 
Your benefit year will expire one year from the date of your initial claim. You can stop claiming weekly benefits during 
your benefit year as many times as you want or need; however, once your unemployment benefits are exhausted or your 
benefit year has expired, no other benefits will be payable on that claim. 

 
WAITING WEEK: A waiting week is a one-week period for which benefits will not be paid on your claim. The waiting 
week will not be deducted from your claim balance. For all claims effective on or after August 1, 2012, the waiting week 
is the first compensable week of a claim. Although no benefits will be paid, you must file a weekly certification for the 
benefit week to be counted as the waiting week. 

 
WORK PERFORMED OUTSIDE THE STATE OF ALABAMA DURING THE BASE PERIOD 

Wages earned in other states or territories of the U.S. during the base period may be used in combination with your 
Alabama wages to determine your eligibility. If you have worked in another state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico 
or the U.S. Virgin Islands during the base period, be sure to advise a claims specialist when filing your claim via the 
telephone, 866-234-5382 (for TTY, see back cover), or through the UC Claimant Inquiry Line, 800-361-4524 (for TTY, 
see back cover). If you are filing online at www.labor.alabama.gov you will be asked specific questions about your work 
performed outside the state of Alabama. 

You may file an interstate or an intrastate claim on wages earned and reported to another state, the District of Columbia, 
Puerto Rico, or the U.S. Virgin Islands. To file an interstate claim, you may call the toll-free number, 866-234-5382 (for 
TTY, see back cover), or file online at www.labor.alabama.gov. You will be required to furnish the names and 
addresses of all employers you worked for during the base period and the dates you were employed with them. 

If you need to file a new claim, or if you have filed a claim against the U.S. Virgin Islands within the last 12 months, 
Alabama will notify that territory to process a reopen or an additional claim, unless your benefits from that territory are 
exhausted or terminated for a definite or indefinite period of time where requalifying requirements have not been met. 

The state or territory where your wages were earned and against which you are filing your claim will make the decision as 
to whether you qualify for unemployment benefits. You will be subject to all the eligibility requirements of that state. 
Each state’s unemployment compensation law and procedure for filing may vary. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PART FOUR: CONDITIONS FOR ELIGIBILITY 
 

WHAT IS AN ELIGIBILITY ISSUE? 

An eligibility issue is any information or set of circumstances, discovered during or after your benefit year, that can raise a 
legal question about whether you should be paid unemployment benefits. 

There are two types of eligibility issues: separation and non-separation eligibility issues. The Department must 
investigate all relevant eligibility issues that apply to your claim before and while paying benefits. A fact-finding 
interview will be conducted to determine if you are eligible for benefits. An eligibility issue can reduce, suspend, or deny 
your benefits under the Alabama Unemployment Compensation Law. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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SEPARATION ELIGIBILITY ISSUES 

A form will be mailed to your most recent employer to notify them that you have filed a claim for unemployment benefits. 
This form will request information about why you are no longer employed. Although information about your job 
separation is obtained from you at the time you file your claim, it may be necessary that we contact you again once a 
response is received from your employer. Before a decision can be made on your claim, it is necessary that the 
Department have a clear understanding of the circumstances under which you became unemployed. Circumstances 
regarding your separation from your last employer can affect whether or not you can draw benefits. 

The Alabama Unemployment Compensation Law provides for a delay or disqualification from receipt of benefits 
if: 

1. You voluntarily quit your job without a good cause connected with the work. Personal reasons for quitting a 
job (i.e., lack of transportation, moving, etc.) are not considered good work-connected causes, no matter how well 
justified. 

2. You were discharged from your job for misconduct in connection with the work. Failure to obey an 
employer’s work rules and policies (i.e., having excessive or unexcused late arrivals or absences, endangering the 
safety of others, disregarding orders, or instructions, committing a dishonest or criminal act, etc.) is considered 
good cause for an employer to discharge an employee. The seriousness of the misconduct, any prior warnings, 
and/or if steps were taken to correct the behavior prior to the discharge will determine the severity of the effect on 
one’s benefits. 

Example: An individual discharged from a job for committing a dishonest or criminal act could receive a 
disqualification that requires wages reported by that employer be removed from the individual’s base 
period wage file. 

3. You become unemployed due to a work stoppage resulting from a labor dispute. In general, individuals are 
disqualified for the week(s) they are unemployed due to a work stoppage resulting from a labor dispute. 

 
NON-SEPARATION ELIGIBILITY ISSUES 

Other requirements for remaining eligible to receive unemployment benefits include: 

1. You must be available for work during each week that you wish to draw benefits. You must be able, 
available, seeking, and willing to immediately accept full-time work, during the hours, days and shifts normally 
worked in the trade or industry for which your training and/or experience qualifies you. You are not eligible to 
file a claim if you reside outside the United States. 

2. You must be able to work to qualify for benefits. If sickness or injury prevents you from working on a job for 
which you are qualified based on your past experience and/or training, benefits can be denied until such time that 
you can provide proof that you are able to work. 

3. You must participate in or report to fact-finding interviews, profile interviews, eligibility reviews, and 
register with the Employment Service, as instructed. If you fail to take part or report, as instructed, to a call-in 
notice to an Alabama Career Center, or for a fact-finding or eligibility review interview, benefits can be denied. 
While receiving unemployment benefits, you may be selected to participate in an eligibility review interview. 
When you make your telephone call or go online to file your weekly claim certification, you may be instructed to 
answer eligibility questions. This eligibility review interview will be conducted prior to filing your weekly claim 
certification. 

4. You must make three (3) work search contacts each week that you wish to receive benefits. These contacts 
must be reported when you file your weekly claim. See the "Work Search Requirements" section of this 
handbook for more information. 

5. You must not refuse any offer of suitable work. Your benefits can be delayed if you fail to respond to a call-in 
notice from the Alabama Career Center regarding a possible job referral. If you refuse a referral to a job, if you 
fail to keep an appointment with a prospective employer, or if you refuse suitable work from an employer, your 
benefits can be delayed or denied. Suitability is determined based upon your past training and experience, the 
details of the job, and by the local labor market. Any job referral or refusal must be immediately reported through 
the UC Claimant Inquiry Line. 
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6. You must immediately report any and all income through the UC Claimant Inquiry Line, 800-361-4524 (for 
TTY, see back cover). You must follow the instructions discussed further in the “How to File Your Weekly 
Certification” section of this handbook. Certain types of payments such as wages, vacation pay, holiday pay, 
workers’ compensation pay, sick pay, etc., may be disqualifying or deductible. 

7. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you must provide your alien registration number as 
documentation of your permission to work in the United States. Your alien registration number will be 
verified with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS). If the USCIS indicates that you do not have 
authorization to work in the United States, unemployment benefits cannot be paid to you. An unemployment 
claim cannot be established using any wages you earned before you had authorization to work. 

8. If you attend GED classes, a college, or a vocational school, you may be able to draw benefits as long as you 
make yourself fully available for any suitable work, even if it means changing the hours of your classes or 
quitting school. If you are a regular, full-time student attending high school, you will be disqualified from 
receiving benefits until you are no longer attending high school. 

9. If you are enrolled in training approved by this Department, you must remain enrolled and make 
satisfactory progress in completing your approved course of training. As long as you remain enrolled and are 
making satisfactory progress, it will have no effect on your benefits. You can ask about available training courses 
and enrollment qualifications at a local Alabama Career Center. 

10. Generally, failure to meet the above requirements will result in a denial of benefits on your claim. In some 
instances, such as deduction of earnings, no written notice is required; however, you have the right to protest or 
request redetermination of any reduction or denial of benefits. 

 
ALABAMA CAREER CENTER SYSTEM REGISTRATION 

If you are an Alabama resident, you must visit a local Alabama Career Center (see inside back cover) to register for work 
or create an online registration at alabamaworks.alabama.gov and update your online resume. 

Your Career Center application will remain active for at least 90 days. You will be required to keep your Career Center 
application active during the weeks you draw unemployment benefits. You can update or obtain information regarding 
your Career Center application online at alabamaworks.alabama.gov. 

If you are an Alabama claimant residing and seeking work in another state, you must register for work and maintain an 
active registration with the Employment Service or American Job Center office in your local area. 

 
WORK SEARCH REQUIREMENTS 

Unless otherwise instructed, you will be required to make an active search for work and will be required to enter work 
search contact information with each weekly certification. 

You must provide three (3) work search contacts each week when you file your weekly certification. Required contact 
information includes date of contact, employer name, city, state, method of contact, and contact results. The date of 
contact MUST be during the week for which you are claiming benefits. Failure to provide required information may 
result in a denial of benefits. 

 
The following guidelines will assist you in making a reasonable and active work search: 

1. Apply each week with employers who hire people with your experience, training, or skills. Your contacts 
should include former employers if you have reason to believe that there is some chance that you may be rehired. 

2. Contact employers during hours of the day and days of the week when hiring is normally done. 
3. Apply to the person who has authority to hire. Complete a job application whenever you have the chance. Online 

applications are acceptable. 
4. Apply for work for which you are qualified, within the normal commuting distance of your place of residence. 
5. Log in to Alabama Works or visit a local Alabama Career Center at least once a week while you are claiming 

unemployment benefits. 



9  

PART FIVE: SPECIAL PROGRAM CLAIMS 
 

MILITARY EMPLOYMENT 

You may file a claim based on your separation or release from active military duty. It will be necessary for you to provide 
your social security number and your DD-214, Member 4 copy, before your eligibility can be determined. As a spouse of 
an active-duty member of the military, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits if you leave your job due to the 
permanent relocation of your military spouse. You will be required to submit proof of the permanent relocation and your 
spousal relationship. Certain other conditions must be met in order to meet initial eligibility requirements and to remain 
eligible to receive benefits. 

 
FEDERAL EMPLOYMENT 

You may file a claim based on separation from federal civilian employment. It will be necessary for you to provide form 
SF-8, SF-50, or earnings/leave statements as proof of employment. 

 
EDUCATIONAL EMPLOYMENT 

School employees with reasonable assurance of re-employment the next school year are generally denied benefits between 
academic terms and during regularly scheduled breaks. 

Individuals who have educational employment will receive two monetary determinations: 

A) one containing all wages reported during the base period, including school wages, and 
B) one containing all wages reported during the base period, without school wages. It may be possible for these 

individuals to draw a reduced benefit amount during a scheduled school break and between terms if enough wages 
from non-school employers were earned during the base period. 

 
TRADE ACT PROGRAM 

If you were laid off as a result of competition from imports, you may be eligible for Trade Readjustment Allowance 
(TRA) and other benefits under the Trade Adjustment Assistance Extension Act of 2011 and Trade Adjustment 
Assistance Reauthorization Act of 2015. 

If your company is certified eligible for Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA), you will be notified by letter. You can file 
your TAA claim as soon as you are notified; however, weekly Trade Readjustment Allowance (TRA) benefits cannot be 
paid until your regular unemployment benefits are exhausted. To file for TRA, call the Claims Line at 866-234-5382 (for 
TTY, see back cover). 

Benefits may include relocation and job search allowances, training assistance, employment services, Health Coverage 
Tax Credit (HCTC) and TRA. In order to receive TRA benefits, you must enroll in approved training or a training waiver 
must be granted within 26 weeks after the petition certification date or 26 weeks after your last qualifying separation. If 
your petition number allows you to receive TRA benefits and you are not in training, you will be required to register with 
the Alabama Career Center System every four (4) weeks. The Alabama Career Center will assist you with your training 
waiver. A waiver of training participation can only be granted for a limited period of time, and only because of health 
(which may impact your benefits), if enrollment for the training in which you will be placed is not immediately available, 
or if there is no training available. 

 
REEMPLOYMENT TRADE ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE (RTAA) PROGRAM 

Trade Adjustment Assistance Reauthorization Act of 2015 established the RTAA program as a wage supplement program 
for reemployed older workers certified eligible to apply for Trade Adjustment Assistance. The Act requires that 
petitioners who request that workers be certified for the RTAA program must do so at the time the petition is filed. 
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RTAA is designed to allow TAA eligible workers for whom retraining may not be appropriate and who find 
reemployment to receive a wage subsidy to help bridge the salary gap between their old and new employment. To receive 
the RTAA benefits, workers must be TAA eligible and certified. 
Under the RTAA program, workers in an eligible worker group who are at least 50 years of age and who obtain different, 
full-time employment after separation from adversely affected employment at wages less than those earned in the 
adversely affected employment, may receive up to half of the difference between the worker's old wage and the new 
wage. The wage subsidy may be paid up to a maximum of $10,000 during a two-year eligibility 

period. To be eligible for the RTAA program, workers may not earn more than $50,000 per year in the new employment. 
Workers who begin receiving payments under the RTAA program may be eligible to receive other TAA benefits and 
services. 

 
HEALTH COVERAGE TAX CREDIT (HCTC) The Trade Adjustment Assistance Reauthorization Act of 2015 
(TAARA) has reinstated the Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC) for eligible TAA, RTAA, and ATAA recipients. The 
TAA program provides two options for an eligible individual to receive the benefit. Taxpayers may elect to file for HCTC 
with an end-of-the-year tax credit with their tax return. This program established a tax credit of 72.5% of the amount paid 
by an individual for qualified health insurance coverage. 

The advance credit option will provide the 72.5% of the payable premium for a qualified health insurance plan as a 
monthly credit. This amount will be forwarded by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to the qualified health insurance 
plan on behalf of the individual receiving advance credit. The taxpayer will be responsible for the payment of the 27.5% 
of the payable premium on a monthly basis. Until the advance tax credit option is implemented, taxpayers must continue 
to pay 100% of the payable premium for qualified health insurance. 

If you have questions regarding HCTC or need additional information, you may contact the IRS. 

Only the IRS can determine whether you qualify for HCTC. Please go to the HCTC website at www.irs.gov/HCTC for 
further information on how to apply for this credit. 

 
DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE BENEFIT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

The major objective of the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program is to provide assistance to individuals 
whose employment has been lost or interrupted as a direct result of a major disaster. A major disaster is defined as any 
hurricane, tornado, storm, flood, high water, tidal wave, wind- driven water, earthquake, drought, ice or fire conditions, or 
other catastrophes declared by the president to warrant government assistance to communities and individuals. 

If you have filed a claim for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
Emergency Assistance Act, a determination of your eligibility will be made and mailed to you. 

 
GENERAL ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

In order to be eligible for DUA, you must meet the following eligibility requirements: 

• An initial application for DUA must normally be filed within 30 days of the State announcement date of the 
availability of assistance, and 

• Your unemployment must have been caused as a direct result of a major disaster declared by the President of the 
United States, and 

• The wages used to calculate your weekly benefit amount meet the state unemployment benefit criteria, and 
• Self-employed individuals must furnish documentation including the last completed year’s income tax records 

within 21 days of filing their application to substantiate wage information used in the calculation of benefits. 

http://www.irs.gov/HCTC
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CONDITIONS OF UNEMPLOYMENT AS A DIRECT RESULT OF THE MAJOR DISASTER 

One or more of the following conditions of unemployment must have occurred as a direct result of the major disaster to 
qualify for DUA: 

• No longer have a job 
• Unable to reach the place of employment 
• Was to start work in the major disaster area and the job no longer exists or you are unable to reach the job 
• Became the breadwinner or major support of the family because the head of household died 
• Cannot work because of an injury incurred during the major disaster. 

If you are not a citizen of the United States, you cannot be paid DUA benefits based on your service unless you were 
legally authorized to work in the United States at the time such services were performed. 

 
REPORTING AND FILING REQUIREMENTS 

In order to be eligible for any week of DUA, you must meet the following conditions: 

• Be totally or partially unemployed, in the disaster area as a direct result of the disaster and have no entitlement to 
regular Unemployment Compensation benefits from the State of Alabama or any other state, unless disqualified 
directly due to disaster related injury. 

• Continue to file claims each week. 
• Be able and available for full time work each day of your claim week. This means that you must be ready, willing 

and able to accept suitable work and there must be no reason or circumstances – personal, physical (unless you are 
unable to work due to incapacitation directly caused by the major disaster), or otherwise – to keep you from 
looking for or taking a full-time job for which you are qualified. If you are an unemployed self-employed 
claimant, you will not be considered unavailable for work if you are engaged in activities solely for the purpose of 
resuming self-employment. 

• Report any work whether or not you have received pay for that work. 
• Report any gross earnings before deductions (include all tips, room and meals). Certain types of payments such as 

wages, vacation pay, holiday pay, workers’ compensation pay, sick pay, etc., may be disqualifying or deductible. 
• Report any change in your address. 

Knowingly giving false information to obtain benefits is considered fraud. See PART SEVEN: FRAUD DETECTION of 
this handbook. 
Decisions affecting eligibility for DUA can be appealed following the guidelines found in PART EIGHT: APPEALS of 
this handbook. If you have appealed a decision denying DUA benefits, you should continue to file weekly claims for 
benefits until the appeal is decided. If the decision finds you eligible to receive DUA benefits, you will be paid only for 
those weeks for which you filed timely claims. 

 
DUA BASE PERIOD 

The most recent tax year that has ended will be considered as the base period to be utilized in computing a DUA weekly 
benefit amount (WBA). 

 
DISASTER ASSISTANCE PERIOD (DAP) 

A disaster assistance period begins the first week following the date the major disaster began. The DAP ends the last week 
that begins prior to 26 weeks after the date the major disaster was declared. DUA will not be paid for any period of 
unemployment that occurs prior to the disaster date nor for a week of unemployment after the end of the DAP. 
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DUA WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT (WBA) 

The computation of the WBA for DUA will be based on net income from the most recently ended tax year. The state 
unemployment compensation (UC) formula will be used to compute the WBA and earnings allowance. All individuals 
who have worked full-time but have insufficient wages to compute a WBA or who are entitled to a DUA WBA less than 
50 percent of the average weekly UC amount will be eligible for 50 percent of the average weekly UC amount. 

 
EXTENDED BENEFITS 

The Alabama Unemployment Compensation Law provides for extended benefits for claimants who have exhausted their 
benefits during periods of high unemployment. The Department will make public announcements to all news media of 
the beginning and ending dates of any extended benefits period. 

 
EMPLOYER FILED CLAIMS 

Your employer may file a partial claim for benefits for any given week that you worked and earned less than your weekly 
unemployment benefit amount. To be valid, your employer must file the partial claim after the end of the payable week, 
but within 14 days following the week claimed. If your employer does not file the partial claim for you within that time 
period, it is your responsibility to file your claim application by telephone. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PART SIX: WEEKLY CLAIM CERTIFICATIONS 
 

You may file your weekly claim certifications either by 

(1) Internet at www.labor.alabama.gov; or 
(2) Telephone using the Unemployment Compensation Division’s automated voice response system. The weekly 

certification telephone number for your calling area will be provided to you when you file your claim. A 
complete list of local numbers is provided in this handbook. 

Weekly certifications may be filed 12:01 AM Sunday through 5:00 PM Friday (Central Time). 

• NOTE: TO BE CONSIDERED TIMELY, YOU MUST FILE YOUR WEEKLY CERTIFICATION BY 
NO LATER THAN 5PM EACH FRIDAY. 

 
FILING YOUR WEEKLY CERTIFICATION 

To be eligible for payment, you must file certifications each week as instructed, even if the determination has not yet been 
made on your claim. You will need the following: 

(1) Social security number, and 
(2) Personal Identification Number (PIN) that you established when you filed your unemployment claim. If you have 

forgotten your PIN, you must either successfully complete security questions on the website or schedule a 
callback with the UC Claimant Inquiry line for assistance. 

Your PIN should never be shared with anyone. It is your electronic signature. It is legally valid and enforceable. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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By law, you may be prosecuted for giving false information or answering questions for anyone other than yourself. 
This includes filing a weekly certification on behalf of someone else. 

 
HOW TO FILE YOUR WEEKLY CERTIFICATION 

When you file your certification for weekly benefits, you will be instructed to answer the questions truthfully. 

When all the information has been entered and verified, you will be told that your certification has been accepted and is 
being processed. You must wait for this response to ensure that all your answers have been recorded. If one or more 
of your answers is potentially disqualifying, you will be instructed to call the UC Claimant Inquiry Line for a fact-finding 
interview. 

NOTE: Your electronic pin or your signature on an unemployment benefit check is written acknowledgment that 
you have given true and accurate information and understand that there are penalties for giving false information 
to obtain unemployment benefits. 

If you choose to stop filing weekly claim certifications for any reason, your claim becomes inactive. If you make your 
weekly call and the system detects that your claim is inactive, you will receive a message informing you that you have a 
break in your claim series. Failure to follow the instructions provided, may result in a loss of benefits. 
If the system detects that you have failed to call for at least two weeks or more, you will be instructed to reopen your 
claim by calling the Claims Line at 866-234-5382 (for TTY, see back cover). Your claim will be reopened effective the 
week that you called and reopened claim. 

 
REPORTING EARNINGS 

You must report your gross pay (before taxes) for the week when you file your weekly claims certification. You must 
report all pay for this week, including any cash payments, even if you have not yet been paid. This amount should 
include any pay for work performed, wages paid while on a temporary layoff, and wages paid while on a scheduled break 
under a contract. If you have multiple employers, include wages from all jobs. Failure to properly report your 
earnings could result in an overpayment of your unemployment benefits. 

 
WHAT TO DO IF YOU MOVE OR GO OUT OF TOWN 

If you have moved to another state, you must call the UC Claimant Inquiry Line at 1-800-361-4524 (for TTY, see back 
cover). If you are away from Alabama temporarily, you may file your weekly certifications via internet or by continuing 
to call the weekly certification number previously given to you. Long distance charges may apply. You will still have to 
meet all eligibility requirements while out of town. 

 
WEEKLY CERTIFICATION NUMBERS 

(for TTY, see back cover) 
 

Birmingham (205) 458-2282 

Montgomery (334) 954-4094 

Not in a local area: (800) 752-7389 
 

To file a weekly certification via the Internet: 
www.labor.alabama.gov 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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PART SEVEN: FRAUD DETECTION 
 

To report fraud, call 1-800-392-8019 (for TTY, see back cover), or report online at www.labor.alabama.gov/Fraud/. 

 
FRAUD 

Fraud: Failure to report information that affects your eligibility for benefits; falsely reporting any information on your 
claim application or weekly claim certifications; or filing a claim using another person’s identity may be construed as an 
act of fraud. Any intentional misrepresentation or withholding of facts or information concerning your eligibility while 
claiming benefits constitutes fraud, whether or not benefits are received as a result of the act. 

 
FRAUD DETECTION PROGRAMS 

Alabama, as well as many other states, has several methods of detecting fraud and overpayments of unemployment 
benefits. These methods include: 

(1) Employer Wage Records 
(2) Benefit Payment Audits 
(3) Quality Assurance Audits 
(4) Reports through the Fraud Hotline 
(5) Reports through the State and National New Hire programs 

 
PENALTIES FOR FRAUD 

If any of the above situations is detected in the payment of unemployment benefits, a fraud determination may result in a 
fraud penalty assessment against your current or future unemployment compensation claim(s). The fraud penalty will be 
automatically deducted from your current and/or future maximum benefit amount(s). 
The first offense of an act of fraud will result in a disqualification for a 52-week period, beginning immediately following 
the final date of the fraud determination. 

• Each subsequent act determined as fraud will result in a disqualification for a period of 104-weeks, immediately 
following the final date of determination of fraud, and 

• All fraudulently received payments must be repaid in full (with verified funds or cash) before being able to 
qualify for a future claim. 

• All fraudulent overpayment balances are subject to a minimum 15 percent penalty and shall accumulate interest at 
the rate of two percent (2%) per month. These amounts will be added to the debt balance. 

Committing the act of unemployment fraud is punishable by prosecution from a Class B Felony to a Class A 
Misdemeanor. An arrest warrant may be issued against you. Each week claimed involving fraud shall constitute a 
separate offense. Upon conviction, you can be: 

• Sentenced to a maximum of not more than 20 years or less than 2 years in jail for each offense for a 
Class B Felony. 

• Sentenced to a maximum of not more than 10 years or less than 1 year and 1 day for a Class C Felony. 
• Sentenced to not more than one year for a Class A misdemeanor. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/Fraud/


15  

OVERPAYMENT OF BENEFITS 

An overpayment can result if you are paid benefits and it is later determined, for any reason, that you did not qualify for 
those benefits. Overpayments may result from: 

• Failure to truthfully answer all questions on your claim, 
• Failure to report any gross income or deductible income, 
• Failure to report any condition or situation that may make you unavailable for or unable to work, or 
• Receiving benefits initially but later being disqualified after an employer appeal. 

If it is determined that you were overpaid benefits, you will be notified by mail, through a Notice of Determination of 
Overpayment, which will indicate the amount of the overpayment and explain why you were overpaid. 

The overpayment can be collected, by law, through offset of your weekly benefit payment(s) where not determined as 
fraud. In overpayments determined as fraud, the offset of your state and/or federal income tax refunds can be 
intercepted to satisfy the overpayment as a cash payment. You may also voluntarily repay your overpayment online at 
www.labor.alabama.gov, or via personal check, money order, certified check, or a cashier’s check made payable to the 
Alabama Department of Labor. 

PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL! WRITE THE LAST FOUR DIGITS OF YOUR SOCIAL 
SECURITY NUMBER ON YOUR CHECK OR MONEY ORDER! 

If the overpayment cannot be paid in full, a repayment agreement can be arranged. If you would like to make repayment 
arrangements or have any questions about your overpayment, you may contact the Benefit Payment Control Section at 
(334) 956-4000. 

All repayment agreements must be in writing. Mail your payments to the following address: 

Alabama Department of Labor 
Benefit Payment Control Section, Room 3430 

649 Monroe Street 
Montgomery, Alabama 36131 

Phone: (334) 956-4000 
(for TTY, see back cover) 

 

 
WAIVER OF REPAYMENT OF OVERPAYMENT 

Waiver of overpayments may only be granted where the overpayment was cause by no fault of your own. You may 
request that the repayment of your overpayment be waived by the chairperson of the Waiver Committee. 

Requests for waiver questionnaires are reviewed by the Waiver Committee only after all appeal rights on your 
overpayment(s) have become final. 

You may request a waiver questionnaire by contacting the: 

Alabama Department of Labor 
Benefit Payment Control, Room 3430 

649 Monroe Street 
Montgomery, Alabama 36131 

FAX: (334) 956-4024 or Phone: (334) 956-4000 
(for TTY, see back cover) 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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PART EIGHT: APPEALS 
 

If you disagree with an examiner’s determination, you may file an appeal to the Hearing and Appeals Division. This is 
your first level of administrative appeal. Appeal requests must be filed within 15 calendar days of the mailing date of the 
original decision or within seven (7) calendar days if the decision was handed to you in-person. If the last day to file falls 
on a weekend or a state holiday, the deadline to file an appeal will be the next business day after the weekend or holiday. 
Your appeal must be made in writing. You can mail, fax or deliver the appeal, or file the appeal online at 
www.labor.alabama.gov. The mailing address and fax number for the Hearings and Appeals Division is shown 
below: 

Alabama Department of Labor 
Hearing and Appeals Division, Room 4677 

649 Monroe Street 
Montgomery, Alabama 36131 

FAX: (334)956-5891 
TELEPHONE: (800)321-9323 

(for TTY, see back cover) 

Your appeal must be signed and include your full name (printed), the last four digits of your social security number, and 
the reason you do not agree with the decision made on your claim. Be certain that you mail, fax or deliver your appeal so 
that it is received at the Alabama Department of Labor on or before the 7th calendar day if the decision was handed to you 
or the 15th calendar day if mailed. 

Either party to an appeal may be represented by any competent person of their choosing including an attorney, although 
an attorney is not required. 

NOTE: It is important that you continue to file your weekly certifications by telephone or the Alabama Department of 
Labor website during the appeals process so that, if the decision is in your favor, you can be paid for eligible back 
weeks. 

 
NOTICE OF HEARING 

Appeals are processed in the order of receipt/file date. A telephone appeal hearing will be scheduled. The Notice of 
Unemployment Compensation Telephone Hearing will be mailed to your address of record informing you of the date, 
time, the issue(s) to be discussed, and the hearing officer’s name. Please promptly report a change of mailing address to 
the Unemployment Compensation Division. 

Please read carefully and follow the instructions on the notice of hearing for your participation in the hearing. All 
interested parties to the appeal will be notified in writing at their address of record. If your appeal is on the reason for 
separation from work, the employer will be notified to participate in the hearing. 

 
HEARING PROCEDURE 

The hearing officer has sole responsibility in conducting the hearing. Hearings are recorded by the hearing officer. No 
one other than the hearing officer may record the hearing. An oath will be administered prior to taking testimony. 

 
EVIDENCE AND AFFIDAVITS 

If you have documents supporting your case, mail or fax such evidence to the hearing officer. Mail or fax the hearing 
officer only evidence that is relevant to your appeal. If you or witnesses are unable to attend the hearing, an affidavit may 
be submitted. The affidavit should set forth all facts in chronological order, giving dates, places, and names. Affidavits 
must be received by the hearing officer before the hearing. Such affidavits carry less weight than testimony given under 
oath at the hearing. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
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ATTENDANCE OF WITNESSES AND SUBPOENAS 

You may have witnesses to participate in the hearing on your behalf. If a witness refuses to appear voluntarily, you may 
request that the individual be subpoenaed. 

Documents may also be subpoenaed. Requests for subpoenas should be made by contacting the Hearings and Appeals 
Division as far in advance of the hearing as possible to allow for preparation, mailing, and delivery. You must provide the 
Department with the residential address of the person you wish to subpoena. 

 
THE APPEALS DECISION 

The hearing officer will render a written decision and mail it to all interested parties within a reasonable time after the 
hearing. If you have questions about the hearing or the decision, you may contact the Hearings and Appeals Division. 

If either party disagrees with the hearing officer’s decision, an appeal may be filed to the Board of Appeals. 

 
THE BOARD OF APPEALS 

This is the second level of administrative appeal. The Board of Appeals is a three-member body appointed by the 
Governor. Hearings are only conducted in Birmingham, Tuscaloosa, Dothan, Decatur, Oxford, Mobile, and Montgomery. 
The Board of Appeals does not conduct hearings by telephone. 

An appeal to the Board of Appeals must be received by the Board of Appeals within fifteen (15) calendar days after the 
mailing date of the hearing officer’s decision. Your appeal should include your name, social security number, and the 
reason you disagree with the decision made on your claim. 

Appeals to the Board can be made by writing to: 

Alabama Department of Labor 
Board of Appeals Office, Room 2206 

649 Monroe Street 
Montgomery, Alabama 36131 

FAX 334-956-7494 

You may also submit your appeal request online at www.labor.alabama.gov/Appeals/. 

The Board of Appeals may grant or deny your application for appeal. In order for the appeal to be granted, the request for 
appeal must be complete and address specific points that were not thoroughly covered in the appeal with the hearing 
officer. If your application for an appeal with the Board of Appeals is denied, you will be notified of the denial by 
certified mail. If your application for appeal is granted, the Board may decide the case based on the record or may 
schedule a hearing. You will be notified of the time and place of the hearing. The decision of the Board of Appeals 
becomes final 10 days after the date the decision is mailed. 

 
CIRCUIT COURT 

If either party is dissatisfied with the decision of the Board of Appeals, they may file an appeal to the circuit court in the 
county of the claimant’s residence. If you live out of the state of Alabama, you must file your appeal to the circuit court 
in the Alabama County in which you last worked or resided. You have 30 days from the date the decision of the Board 
of Appeals becomes final to appeal to the circuit court. Appealing to the circuit court does not require the services of 
an attorney. Decisions of the circuit court may be appealed to the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals. 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/Appeals/
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PART NINE: EQUAL OPPORTUNITY IS THE LAW 
 

It is against the law for the recipient of Federal financial assistance to discriminate on the following basis: 

• Against any individual in the United States, on the basis of race, color, religion, sex (includes pregnancy, 
childbirth, and related medical conditions, sex stereotyping, transgender status, and gender identity), national 
origin (includes limited English proficiency), age, disability, political affiliation, or belief; or 

• Against any beneficiary of, applicant to, or participant in programs financially assisted under Title I of the 
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), on the basis of the individual’s citizenship status or 
participation in any WIOA Title I-financially assisted program or activity. 

ADOL must not discriminate in any of the following areas: 

• Deciding who will be admitted, or have access, to any WIOA Title I - financially assisted program or activity; 
• Providing opportunities in, or treating any person with regard to, such program or activity; or 
• Making employment decisions in the administration of, or in connection with, such a program or activity. 

Recipients of Federal financial assistance must take reasonable steps to ensure that communications with individuals with 
disabilities are as effective as communications with others. This means that, upon request at no cost to the individual, 
recipients are required to provide appropriate auxiliary aids and services to qualified individuals with disabilities. 

 
WHAT TO DO IF YOU BELIEVE YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED DISCRIMINATION 

If you think that you have been subjected to discrimination under a WIOA Title I – financially assisted program or 
activity, you may file a complaint within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation with ADOL or with the Civil 
Rights Center (CRC). 

For Employment Service and Unemployment Insurance Programs and Activities: 
Tonya D. Scott 

Equal Employment Opportunity Manager 
EEO and Grievance Section 

Alabama Department of Labor (ADOL) 
649 Monroe Street 

Montgomery, Alabama 36131 
(334) 956-5835 

Alabama Relay: 711 (TTY or Voice) 

or 

Director 
Civil Rights Center (CRC) 
U. S. Department of Labor 

200 Constitution Avenue, NW, Room N-4123 
Washington, D.C. 20210 or electronically as directed on the CRC website at www.dol.gov/crc 

If you file a complaint with ADOL, you must wait either until ADOL issues a written Notice of Final Action, or until 90 
days have passed (whichever is sooner), before filing with the Civil Rights Center (see address above). 

If ADOL does not give you a written Notice of Final Action within 90 days of the day on which you filed your compliant, 
you may file a complaint with CRC before receiving that Notice. However, you must file your CRC complaint within 30 
days of the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120 days after the day on which you filed your complaint with 
ADOL). 

If the ADOL does give you a written Notice of Final Action on your complaint, but you are dissatisfied with the decision 
or resolution, you may file a complaint with CRC. You must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the date on which 
you received the Notice of Final Action. 

Reference: 29 CFR §38.35 

http://www.dol.gov/crc


 

 

HOURS OF OPERATION AND CONTACT INFORMATION: 

 
TO FILE A NEW CLAIM APPLICATION 
OR TO REOPEN AN EXISTING CLAIM 

 
 

TOLL FREE 
866-2 FILE UC (866-234-5382) 

8:00 AM – 4:30 PM CENTRAL TIME 
MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY 

 
 

VIA THE INTERNET 
www.labor.alabama.gov 

SUNDAY-FRIDAY 
 
 

UC CLAIMANT INQUIRY LINE 
TO OBTAIN INFORMATION, ASSISTANCE, OR TALK TO A CLAIMS SPECIALIST 

 
TOLL FREE 
800-361-4524 

 
 

NEXT-DAY APPOINTMENT ONLY 
SCHEDULING OPENS AT 5PM 

SUNDAY-THURSDAY 
 

DEAF, HARD-OF-HEARING, SPEECH –IMPAIRED, OR DEAF-BLIND CUSTOMERS MAY CONTACT 

WWW.ALABAMARELAY.COM 
800-548-2546 (TTY) 

OR DIAL 711 (Voice) 
 

DEBIT CARD CUSTOMER SERVICE 
TO ACTIVATE A CARD OR OBTAIN DEBIT CARD ASSISTANCE, 

INCLUDING REPORTING A CARD LOST OR STOLEN 

833-888-2779 (TOLL FREE) 
or 

www.goprogram.com 
 
 

http://www.labor.alabama.gov/
http://www.alabamarelay.com/
http://www.goprogram.com/
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